Delete, Delete, Delete

IMG_2281.JPG
I wish
I was a computer
A laptop or
A memory stick
That way I can just press delete
And all of the memories
Can be permanently expunged
Or at least I have the option
To choose which data
I want deleted and
Just save the best part

Ethel Beckett © 2014.Brisbane

http://panayola.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/02/delete1

4 responses to “Delete, Delete, Delete

    • I prefer not to keep them if I can but that’s the thing we can’t just forget memories, it become part of us. We do learn from our mistakes and bad decisions in life and we wouldn’t grow as a person without them but sometimes if the pain is too much I would prefer having a choice not to remember. Would you prefer to keep yours painful memories? If you are given a choice not to remember them, would you take it?

      Like

      • I respect your thoughts and your opinion.

        I agree with your statement that “we do learn from our mistakes and bad decisions in life and we wouldn’t grow as a person” with the caveat that we, sometimes, learn and grow as people. I know that seems to be splitting hairs but not all people do learn and grow from mistakes, thus they continually find themselves stuck in the same situation over and over.

        That leads to your question posed. I would keep my painful memories. I look back at my life and look at the individual I was before that painful experience and whom I eventually became because I grew from the experience. I don’t think I could maintain the growth and change without remembering the experience to dwell on the lesson learned. I think it is a cause-and-effect scenario where the growth and lesson cannot be separated from the painful memory. One cannot reside without the other.

        I will admit that in some instances it took me awhile to learn the lesson so I made some poor choices when faced with similar situations but I needed those to be able to learn because apparently I had not progressed on my journey far enough to where I was willing to accept change.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Hey sorry I’m only getting back to you now, I finished work late.

    I respect your opinion as well but I do believe all people do learn from their mistakes but sometimes it just takes time for them to grow and I consider myself to be one of them. Sometimes we know it is a mistake however we still chose to do them over and over again because somehow we hope that maybe it will turn out differently but in some point when we had enough and learn how to accept things the way they are and the things we can’t control, it is the only time we learn and are able to grow.

    I totally agree on what you said “It is a cause-and-effect scenario where the growth and lesson cannot be separated from painful memory” they co-exist. We only learn from our past mistakes but If I was given the option to delete some parts of my memories, I’ll do it! Maybe just to ease the pain or maybe not to feel any pain at all and just keep the best ones — the part where I have grown and learnt.

    “To choose which data
    I want deleted and
    Just save the best part”

    🙂

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.